Bracumentary

April 7, 2010 at 8:17 pm 5 comments

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Sue’s Corner: Sneaky Gays Interesting

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amber  |  April 9, 2010 at 12:35 am

    Very good, Julie. Very authentic & real. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  • 2. colourfieldsounding  |  April 13, 2010 at 8:35 pm

    I really enjoyed watching and listening to this piece. The natural quality is great. I love the ‘snapping’ at the end and the music, “Don’t Let Me Down” — perfect. Well done.

    Reply
  • 3. something2creative  |  April 14, 2010 at 5:55 am

    I really had an excellent time working and collaborating with Ana and Erin. I feel as though we were able to have a meeting of the minds concerning what to focus on and how. Each one of us had something unique to offer and i feel it shows in the piece. As Dr.Juhasz said, we could have gone three ways with the piece, focusing on the forum, the owner Bonnie, or the Montage of images and the bra’s history…I’m glad we did our best to present something that people would want more of…
    PEACE OUT!

    Reply
  • 4. MP:me  |  April 20, 2010 at 12:21 am

    can you write some commentary for your “school” part of this?

    Reply
  • 5. something2creative  |  May 7, 2010 at 8:29 am

    The bracumentary, was an interesting collaboration, and told from I believe an “i-voice” perspective. Ana’s short story served as the catalyst for the project. Putting her narration at the beginning of the video, I think to a certain degree throughs the viewer right into the crux of the matter, that being the breast. As part of the creative process, I put Ana in my mother’s guest room, a very airy and clam space. Ana sat down, I adjusted the mirror so that Ana’s reflection would be two fold. I wanted this because I felt that her presence of telling this story of her son and nursing was so powerful, I didn’t want to lose the image of her by having the words over power her presence-I’m not really sure if that translates but that was my intention.
    Upon further reflection of the piece I do think that having Ana say something at the end, or somehow tie what she said at the beginning would complete the circle of story telling that is featured in the Doc. I’m not sure what that would look like, but that is a very good suggestion for making the piece more whole.
    Including ourselves and two of our mothers in the video, for myself, was a very feminist type of venture. There were no men present, during any of the filming. Having them be there, would have changed the freeness of speech, I believe we all engaged in. And by presenting ourselves in the piece, during the fitting sections, i believe did not make the project some sort of universal commentary on or about women, or the breast, rather, it was individual contributions for a collective discussion, not something that is for everyone. But we also tried to use humor with the music and in the approach so that the video could be accessible to most anyone watching-

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


the unappendix

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers


